Apple Event Update

So Apple had their big event on September 5th and it held a fair number of surprises. I was close in my prediction that the iPhone wouldn’t be left out of the party, while I was hoping for some new features to be opened up I guess a price cut and the Wi-Fi Music Store will suffice. Everyone else has chimed in with their opinion on the price cut so I guess I will to. I’m actually happy that the price cut occurred. Sure I wish I’d purchased my iPhone AFTER the cut, but I’m trying to keep the long run in mind. In the long run it benefits all iPhone owners for there to be more iPhones sold. More iPhone’s sold means greater product support and enhancements down the road. Look at the iPod, they sell the crap out of those and they keep making them better. If the sales weren’t there Apple would abandon the product and it would go the way of the Newton.

Regarding the new nano. I think its pretty cool, now if I could only justify having one. Here’s the problem, I now use my nano in exactly two situations: Walking the dogs or going to the gym. In those two situations I basically start up my podcast playlist and leave it until I stop, meaning I don’t mess around with the interface at all and if I’m going to watch video it will be on my iPhone. This means that my current nano works just fine and I have no “need” (beyond gadget lust) for the new nano. Sad, I know.

My last comment on the Apple event is about the Starbucks partnership. I think this is a bit of genius. Starbucks sells a lot of music through their Hear Music label. One of the biggest reasons iTunes is so dominant is the convenience of the purchasing transaction. Being able to walk into a Starbucks a within a few taps be able to buy whatever you hear is going to be a tremendous phenomenon.  

Until next time, thank you for your time.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

